Books, Lifestyle, Writing, Podcasting, Military Life, Inspirtation, North Carolina

Children’s Book Review- Winston the Wombat Book Series by Megan Cline

Megan Cline has created an adorable series of books based around a precious Wombat personified as a little fellow named Winston who is learning how to do new things. Young children can easily become overwhelmed and frustrated when trying new things. In each book (Winston Winks, Winston’s Wet and Winston Wiggles) the curious and thoughtful little wombat lead character tries hard to master each new skill with his family’s support and practice. The importance of patience and understanding is at the core of each book and a lesson that all families must master when helping little children to grow.

Positive messages leap from the bold text on each page, “Keep trying”, “I’m proud of you!” His ever patient mother always offers him encouragement, affection, and the answers to all of his many, many questions. Winston learns that patience, practice and perseverance are key because not every skill comes easily. And it is okay if each task is not perfected as long as you give it your best try with your best outlook and attitude.

My eight-year-old son and I read the books at bedtime as they make for perfect reading before a long night of sleep as each book leaves the reader with an important message. The books made for a great discussion about staying positive when faced with a challenge. Not to mention, the books are extremely relatable to every person adventuring toward a new chapter in life. Each is also a wonderful reminder to parents to stay cool under pressure because little ears and hearts are listening to the message we relate to our children. The reader will love (as we did) the vibrant and sweet illustrations by Sakshi Mangal which help to deliver each book’s storyline perfectly.

About the Author

Megan Cline was inspired to create this series of children’s stories by her own curious son, whose questions and wonderings about the world around him always prodded her to think about things that had never even occurred to her. As a child, Megan lived in the town of Booragoon, Western Australia, where she and her family lived near a nature preservation area. This life experience has nourished her mind and fed her writing as she found the native Australian wombat a perfect fit for her main character in the Winston series.  Currently, Megan lives in Iowa with her husband and son.

Winston Winks by Megan Cline, produced through FriesenPress, is available from the FriesenPress Bookstore, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Indigo, and more. The eBook is available for GooglePlay and Apple Books. The book is registered with the American Wholesale Book Company, Baker & Taylor, Follett Library Resources, American West, and Ingram.

Contact Megan here for more information on her books:

-Alison Paul Klakowicz

Author, Writer, Blogger and Podcaster

2 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review- Winston the Wombat Book Series by Megan Cline”

Thanks for reaching out! I will get back to you shortly!

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.